IRIS Mission and Science Briefings

Mission managers of NASA's Interface Region Imaging Spectrograph (IRIS) mission answered questions about the upcoming launch of IRIS. IRIS is a NASA Small Explorer Mission to observe how solar material moves, gathers energy and heats up as it travels through a little-understood region in the sun's lower atmosphere.

NASA's Interface Region Imaging Spectrograph (IRIS) mission is scheduled to launch at 7:27 p.m. PDT (10:27 p.m. EDT) Thursday, June 27, from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California.

Launch on an Orbital Sciences Corporation Pegasus XL rocket is targeted for the middle of a five-minute launch window. Live NASA Television coverage of the launch begins at 6 p.m. PDT (9 p.m. EDT).


Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.