Typhoon Hagupit Reaches The Philippines As Seen From Orbit


NPP View of Typhoon Hagupit

Typhoon Hagupit came ashore in the Bicol and eastern Visayas region of the Philippines early on Dec. 7 and slowly tracked to the west, bringing typhoon-force winds, heavy rainfall, and dangerous storm surge.

NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite captured an image of the storm covering the central and extending into the northern part of the country. On Dec. 7 at 1500 UTC (10 a.m. EST/11 p.m. local time, Manila), Typhoon Hagupit (known as Ruby in the Philippines) was moving through the north central Philippines. It was located near 12.6 north longitude and 123.7 east latitude (in the Sulu Sea) and about 228 nautical miles southeast of Manila. Hagupit was moving to the northwest at 5 knots. Maximum sustained winds had decreased to 75 knots and further weakening is expected as it passes south of Manila and exits into the South China Sea.

NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite passed over Typhoon Hagupit on Dec. 7 at 5:23 UTC (12:23 a.m. EST) and the Visible Infrared Imaging Radiometer Suite (VIIRS) instrument aboard captured a visible picture of the storm. The VIIRS instrument revealed strong thunderstorms around the center of circulation with an almost indistinguishable center. The eye of the storm was no longer visible. The storm covered the northern and central Philippines. According to PAGASA, the Philippine forecast authority for the typhoon the local forecast is: Expected third landfall: Northern Mindoro between 6 - 8 pm tomorrow (Dec. 8 local time) and it will be associated with strong winds, storm surge and moderate to heavy rainfall. Effects of Typhoon Ruby will be felt in Metro Manila starting tomorrow and will peak at around 8 - 10 pm (local time). Estimated rainfall amount is from 5 - 15 mm (0.2 to 0.6 inches) per hour (moderate - heavy) within the 450 km (279 miles) diameter of the typhoon.

The following warnings were in effect on Dec. 7: Public storm warning signal #3 is in force in the following provinces: Luzon: Marinduque, Romblon, Masbate, Burias Island, Ticao Island, Oriental Mindoro.

Public storm warning signal #2 is in force in the following provinces: Visayas: Northern Samar, Samar, Biliran, Aklan, Capiz, Northern Cebu, Cebu City, Bantayan Island, Camotes Island. In Luzon: Sorsogon, Albay, Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Lubang Island, Quezon, Occidental Mindoro, Camarines Norte & Sur

Public storm warning signal #1 is in force in the following provinces: Visayas: Iloilo, Antique, Guimaras, Negros Occidental & Oriental, Eastern Samar, Leyte,Southern Leyte, rest of Cebu. In Luzon: Zambales, Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Pampanga, Bulacan, Metro Manila, Rizal, Catanduanes, Northern Palawan

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.