SpaceRef - Calendar of Events - Add Your Event



Ariane 5ES Launch of ESA's ATV-5

Category: Aeronautics and Astronautics

Topic: Launches

Event Format: Rocket Launch

Date: July 24, 2014

Location: Carbet Toukan, Kourou, GF

Launch Time:

Liftoff of the Ariane 5ES launcher is set for the night of Thursday, July 24 to Friday, July 25, 2014 at precisely:

10:41:04 pm (local time in French Guiana) on July 24, 2014
09:41:04 pm (Washington, D.C.)
01:41:04 am (UTC) on July 25, 2014
03:41:04 am (Paris)
05:41:04 am (Moscow)

Europe’s fifth, and final, Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV) for servicing of the International Space Station is being readied for launch.

The ATV – named Georges Lemaître after the Belgian physicist and father of the Big Bang theory – currently is located in the Spaceport’s Final Assembly Building, where it will be mated with Ariane 5. The spacecraft was delivered to the state-of-the-art facility earlier this week after completing its fueling process in the separate S5 payload preparation building.

In addition to resupplying the International Space Station with air, fuel and dry cargo, ATV Georges Lemaître will perform maneuvers to maintain the crewed facility’s nominal orbit and test new rendezvous sensors in space.

The ATV program is part of Europe’s contribution to the International Space Station’s operation, and is managed by the European Space Agency. Prime contractor is Airbus Defence and Space, which leads a European industry team. Airbus Defence and Space also is industrial architect for the Ariane 5.

Arianespace’s latest ATV mission in support of International Space Station operations is designated Flight VA219 in the company’s numbering system, and will utilize an Ariane 5 ES version of the heavy-lift workhorse – underscoring its flexibility in meeting a full range of mission requirements.

All ATVs have been orbited by Ariane 5 launchers, beginning with “Jules Verne” in March 2008, and followed by “Johannes Kepler” in February 2011, the “Edoardo Amaldi” in March 2012, and last June’s flight with “Albert Einstein.”

Web Site Address: http://www.arianespace.tv/

* Add Your Event *

 Calendar of Events RSS Feed